RSS

Short Note from Japan on April 4

05 Apr

Well, I think you want to know how dangerous it will be for you the radioactively contaminated water which was released from Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant into the pacific ocean yesterday.

TEPC said it would be 0.6 milli SV/year of expose if you eat fished or seaweeds everyday which is caught or  collected around there. Our policy is, I am not sure it is international policy or not, but at least Japanese policy is set safe limit to general people as 1 milli SV/year, and it is impossible to catch any fishes nor seaweed around there right now. So, TEPC said it won’t be so dangerous even for us Japanese.

I think it won’t be so dangerous at least to the world if it is only one time release.
The water included low level radiation. It is 100 times higher than usual safe limit, but you know, pacific ocean is very large and every radioactive materials lost its power in time and distance. It is very high in limited space and water, but it will be less high once it is mixed with seawater of pacific ocean. While the materials traveling from Japan to your county by the ocean, the materials will make distance among them loosing its power in time. It will be bit higher than usual the radiation level of seawater around your country, but I am sure it won’t be so high to cause a problem on your health.

But, what if TEPC needs to do again? How many times they will need?  That is the question.

Right now, many experts from all over the world come to support us. I hope they will find a way more safe way to the world.

Believe me, all of us Japanese feel very sorry for what is going on. Natural disaster is something we can’t control and there is no way other than to accept and rebuild. But, the nuclear accident is different. I am sure TEPC and Japanese government have been trying hard their best, but it seems not enough. I am so sad we failed to keep a nuclear plant in safe. It is our own fault not to have more reliable way to keep a nuclear power plant in safe even with such a huge earthquake and tsunami as we know they happened very often in Japan, and, we knew how dangerous radiation is since 1945. We should be more careful.

I apologize as a Japanese to the world about that our country bring great fear to the world on the Earth. I promise we will find better way to be a reliable county.

Well, I might be sound bit pessimistic, I guess, but actually not. I keep my trust to our technology and friendship with many countries. I don’t think all the experts all over the world can’t find even a way to make the situation a little better. It won’t be so soon, but I believe we will find a way, maybe a tough and difficult way, but find a way with hope.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment