RSS

Pompano with vinegar sauce

21 Aug

Tonight’s main dish, 鰺の酢漬け Aji no suduke

鰺 Aji = pompano, 酢 su = vinegar, 漬ける tsukeru = to soak

fried pompano

vinegar

Sake(Japanese rice wine)

Mirin(味醂)

salt

sliced onion

sliced carrots

sliced green pepper or paprika

 

You can eat whole the fishes including heads and bones. 

So, I had to fry more than 30 pompanos for this! It was hard time for me, but I felt that my effort was rewarded when my family told me that they really enjoyed the meal.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2008 in cooking, life in Japan, My life

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Pompano with vinegar sauce

  1. Tess

    August 24, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Hi scarlet,
    That dish looks delicious. I think you mean “sauce” not “source,” though. Are the fish coated with panko? Did you fry the fish in a pan, or did you deep-fry them in oiL? Do you eat this hot or cold?

     
  2. scarlet^^

    August 24, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Hi Tess,
    Thanks for correcting my English!
    This time, those fishes were very small and I had to cook many of them. Then, I coated them with flour for keeping the shape of the fish, and deep-fried in oil (olive oil) for eating the heads and bones. If you want to make the dish healthier, you can deep-fry them without coated, or just fry them in a pan. Or, sometimes I just grilled them. But, I guess that you can’t eat the heads and bones in this case. I think you can eat whole of the fish when the fish is small and you deep-fry them.
    We ate this as a cold meat. This is a kind of preservation food and you can eat them about a week later if you keep them in a refrigerator.
    I guess you can use white wine in stead of rice wine.
    And, you can use any other fish or meat in stead of pompano.

    Have a good meal!

     

Leave a Reply

 
