RSS

Sumo, Banzuke(ranking of the wrestlers) for Nagoya Tournament is announced.

30 Jun

Kotooshu (琴欧洲), my most favorite Sumo wrestler, is the Ozeki of the East!

In Japan, maybe in China and Korea also, there’s a view that the East is more powerful than the West because the Sun is rising from the East. Then, on the Sumo wrestling, the East is the superior group of wrestlers. There’s 4 of Ozeki right now in Makuuchi, and he is the first rank of them, so, he has the biggest possibility of becoming the Yokozuna (the first rank of the Sumo wrestlers).

Kotooshu is the only one Bulgarian Sumo wrestler ( and the tallest one among them).

I don’t know any word in Bulgarian but I can guess that it is far different from Japanese and he had to spend very hard time in Japan and Japanese, especially the first part of his life in Japan. Sumo is our traditional culture and it has lots of different custom even for us, Japanese. So, how surprised he was as a young man from Europe! (He was 19 years old when he came to Japan.)

But he did his best and won the March Grand Tournament. It was the first time for him winning the Tournament.

I hope he will win the next tournament in Nagoya and becoming the Yokozuna.

If you are interested in Sumo, here might be useful information.

大相撲 日本相撲協会 Ozumo Nihon Sumo Kyokai

 

written on July 14,

The link has been changed!

You can get the imformation about Banzuke and the schedule of Nagoya Basyo (July Grand Sumo Tournament in Nagoya).

大相撲名古屋場所 番付、星取表 Nagoya Basyo Banzuke & results informations

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2008 in life in Japan, sports

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Sumo, Banzuke(ranking of the wrestlers) for Nagoya Tournament is announced.

  1. Lefty

    July 6, 2008 at 6:02 am

    I saw the 13th day of the May Sumo Honbasho in Tokyo; even though it was the only day of the tournament that Kotooshu lost, I still had an excellent time. Some pictures are up at http://flickr.com/photos/stonemirror/sets/72157605216452624/

    Where is the rest of the banzuke listed…? I’ll be looking for the results of the July Nagoya Honbasho to see how Kotooshu does this time!

     
  2. scarlet^^

    July 6, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Wow! That’s great!
    Actually, I’ve seen Sumo only on TV even though I’m Japanese and living in Japan whole my life! I hope I’ll do it someday.

    I guess that you want to know not only Makuuchi and Juryo (you can see them throught the link I wrote above), but also Makushita, Sandanme, Jonidan, Jonokuchi. Unfortunately, there’re only top 2 group’s Banzuke in English. You can see the rest only in Japanese.

    The Nagoya Basyo will show up on next Sunday and I’m really exciting already! 🙂
    I’ll be looking for too!

     
  3. stonemirror

    July 21, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Thanks for the nice comments about my photos, Scarlet!

     
  4. scarlet^^

    July 27, 2008 at 1:14 am

    Hi stonemirror!
    I must say thank you especially when I couldn’t find any good news about Kotooshu even in Japanese.

    So, this time is his first challenge to be a Yokozuna.
    Let’s see how the next tournament goes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
